Ärtsoppa (Swedish Pea Soup) & Crepes

The traditional meal for each Thursday in Sweden is ärtsoppa, a soup made with yellow peas and pork, served with thin pancakes..

DSCF1001

Yellow peas? Yep, such a thing exists. Apparently..

DSCF0979 DSCF0981 

I used a recipe book I was gifted called “Wonderful Sweden.” You can find a similar recipe here (basically add a carrot and it’s the same recipe): http://soupsong.com/rartsopp.html

If you took a gander at the recipe and thought whattheheckismarjoram.?!., you’re not alone. I substituted oregano, because I couldn’t find marjoram at the grocery and a careless Google search told me that the two are related.

I’m all about improvising.

 DSCF0977 DSCF0987

Swedes eat their pea soup with thin pancakes, which are basically crepes. I know that sounds like a really random combination. And it is. It’s kind of  a nice combo though. The soup is heavy and the crepes are light. The soup is salty and the jam for the crepes is sweet.

DSCF0992 DSCF0994

If you’ve never made crepes, take a lesson from Julia:

I quite like this soup. And it’s a nice day for soup. Much like every day.

Leave a comment